League of Extraordinary Bloggers-Christmas Memories

leaguelogo_small3

Once again its time for The League of Extraordinary Bloggers weekly article. This marks my second post with the league, and this time it’s all about my favorite Christmas memory. I have a few strong memories about the magical Christmas morning, but the one that stands out the most involves my site’s namesake. I’ll get to that in a minute.

First, I need to give you the wind up before the pitch.

Christmas morning: I have awoken with my brother and we are making our way down the stairs. We are met by our parents and both sets of grandparents. My insane 4ft grandmother is making over us and trying to pull down my pj bottoms. Hilarious, considering she was interrupting me opening my haul. I’m sorry did I say she was insane, because I meant it. Not in the evil, maniacal laughter, wringing her hands while talking to her frog statue way(scary insane); but in the trying to put toads or crickets down my shirt during church kind of way (fun insane).

Anyway, it’s slightly dark and the tree is shining with all the lights and there is (what seems like) a mountain of presents piled under the tree. Both sets of grandparents are there with my parents as we descend the stairs. The stockings are packed full and everything seems just right. The first things devoured are the stockings, filled with small knickknacks and candy and an orange….yeah right like that’s gonna be a point of interest. Nice try Dad! After the stockings are empty husks it is now time for the presents to be stripped nude. My parents had devised a plan to keep the wrapping paper mess to a minimum, by making my brother and I alternate opening them. We were told it was so everyone could see what we got. It was aggravating then and to this day the tradition continues, however it isn’t aggravating any longer as I am still very groggy as we go through the procedure and any energy that can be saved shall be. Afterwards my mother would bake monkey bread, half nuts and half no nuts, should have been no nuts at all but “everybody else” likes nuts. Bastards. If you don’t know what monkey bread is here is a picture.

FVOME0JF6B7SUCM.LARGE

Yeah that’s right it’s the kind without nuts. Suck on that world!

I do have to say one of my fondest Christmas memories was when the holiday fell in the middle of the week and not on a Sunday, so no pesky church to get in the way of playtime. So other than that, the times that I remember the most were:

Getting a Hungry Hungry Hippos game it looked something like this:

il_fullxfull.491008718_nyzp

For some reason I remember this very strongly, jumping up and down screaming “HUNGRY HUNGRY HIPPOS” repeatedly. Apparently I was in love with this game.

The Christmas That I Got Ace Duck:

4007120783_bb08297f09_o

My site is named Ace Duck for a good reason. When I was younger I loved Ninja Turtles, it would become the biggest and longest running obsession of my life. Ace Duck was my first Ninja Turtle and he will forever be my favorite. Here is an introduction directly from the back of his packaging:

“Hungry for duck brain, Krang ordered Shredder to beam an Earthbound duck to Dimension X (there’s a shortage of ducks in Dimension X). While transmuting the duck, famous test pilot, Ace Conrad, accidentally flew into the energy beam. The emerging plane was suddenly piloted by none other than Ace Duck, the aero-dynamic adventurer with a big bill. The plane plummeted into the inner city and slid nose-first into the sewer. Ace escaped without ruffling his feathers and found himself at the secret hideout of the Turtles. After realizing he wasn’t just some quack off the streets, the Turtles decided to hire Ace to pilot their Turtle Blimp. Always looking for a good adventure, Ace isn’t afraid to scramble the Foot with his hard-boiled Egg Grenades…as long as he gets paid on time. Even though he’s employed by the Turtles, Ace is still their fearless, Flying friend.”

That concludes this session of nostalgia. Merry Christmas!

Until nest time.

Ace-

Other sites you should check out:

Nerd Out With Me– Recounts his favorite Christmas

Cool And Collected-Was starring in a Sweded version of Troma’s Bugged! for his Christmas memory.

Junk Fed-Talks about dead folk, cops and handcuffs, and quick cash for college against his will

Goodwill Hunting 4 Geeks-Throws off shallowness for something a bit more meaningful for his Christmas memory.

5 thoughts on “League of Extraordinary Bloggers-Christmas Memories

Leave a Reply

