The League!!! Pop Culture Road Trip

pop-culture-road-tripThis week the topic was where the nerd inside of you wants to go. This week it took me a bit of thinking to figure out where in the world I would go.

I went through places that sell stuff,

FAO_Schwarz_by_NightThe infamous FAO Schwarz. This store has been built up to me by movies for years. I did a little search on their website; I was expecting to find 30 ft tall Ninja Turtles, actual X-Wing fighters, and that spray goop from Home Alone 2. All I saw were random toys and some action figures. Lots of girl toys(lame) not as much really cool stuff.

Maybe it was that they don’t need to sell things on their website and maybe their store is literally bursting at the seams from the obnoxiously large spacecraft and classically trained gigantic reptilian ninjas. Here’s hoping.

I thought about places that hold stuff,

4909581883_2f4870c4b2_zThis is a warehouse used to store movie props. It looks awesome. That is all.

and I thought about places I would like to go.

Untitled

This place would still be amazing though. They are an historical Japanese park.

Apparently they film a lot of period films here and there are samurai shows, not to mention themed restaurants. Sounds pretty awesome. It should also be noted that depending on the current exchange rate the tickets are around 2200JPY or in American terms 20 bucks!

Here is a link to their site.

I also thought about one of my most favorite things ever:

tumblr_m7o739j7cN1rysqqjo1_1280

I dare them to let me find out the sound-stage from Pee Wee’s Playhouse is still all put together. I DARE THEM!!!

I’m sure it’s not but damn, wouldn’t that be amazing?

A man can dream can’t he?

Also I just found out this is an actual place:

Henson1

The Jim Henson film company. Which was originally Charlie Chaplin’s film studio that he built.

All of these are pretty awesome choices, but

After thinking about all the things I would want to do besides going to space(duh, I mean that’s a given) I recently found out that I will be going to Albuquerque in the near future.

6.18.08OldTownAlbuquerqueByLuigiNovi6

For Breaking Bad fans this is all I need to say.

For you other drones buzzing about in your hives of lameness, Breaking Bad (quite possibly the best show on TV ever) takes place in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

They have Breaking Bad tours as well.

Not to give any spoilers (I wouldn’t dare), but I will be throwing a pizza on some poor fool’s roof.

I figured since I was going there anyway I would go ahead and make my Pop Culture Road Trip vision become a reality.

That is all.

leaguelogo_small3

Here are some more adventures from the League.

G.I. Jigsaw waxes about traveling along a John Hughes road trip.

Space For Rent wants to travel the world and perhaps out of it as well.

The Nerd Nook wants to travel with John Candy and get the 80’s vacation feel.

D.I. Treasures takes us on an incredible ride at 88 mph.

Cool and Collected wants to go to New Zealand for a up close glimpse of the shire and other Mordorian places.

Adventures in Gaming examines the changes of various Disney characters over the years.

Traveling Pics visits all kinds of awesome toy/game/pop culture stores in Peru. All in the same huge mall.

leaguelogo_small3

Until next time.

-Hank

One thought on “The League!!! Pop Culture Road Trip

Leave a Reply

